Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit
We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit
Something missing?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit
Updated through online information from Andrew Scanlon (December 30, 2024): Instrument not extant, not playable. Complex turned into office building "Parish Commons".
Founded 15 May, 1895
In December, 1894, Holy Trinity Lutheran Church on Main Street purchased land on the southeast corner of Elmwood and Highland with the intention of establishing a mission in the area. William Hengerer, of the department store fame, held the land in trust until the establishment of the congregation on 15 May, 1895 with 59 charter members.
The congregation prospered and within a year, 15 April, 1896, it became an independent church. It soon outgrew the frame chapel erected on the site and began looking for new property on which to expand. They purchased land on the west side of Elmwood north of Highland but the site later proved to be too small for its
intended purpose. In 1911, they purchased the present lot and disposed of all other church property.
Ground was broken for the new church 2 July, 1912. While construction progressed, the congregation utilized the Richmond Avenue Methodist Church. on 27 November, 1913, they formally dedicated the $50.000 house of worship.
-- Houses of Worship: A Guide to the Religious Architecture of Buffalo, New York, by James Napora (web page)
Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit