Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit
We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.
Something missing?Add Image
Something missing?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit
Something missing?Add Console
The chapel was organizaed as on eof three mission churches established by St. David's; organized as an independent congregation on November 27, 1886. The cornerstone for a new building was laid in 1876 and enlarged in 1896. The parish is now defunct, having closed in 1968. The building was raized about 1975. The Jardine was more than likely moved into the new building before later rebuilding and expansion.
The date is almost surely 1866, not 1855 as previously identified. From the 1996 OHS Convention Handbook:
'The "Chapel," which appears on the Jardine list, was built about 1866, and became independent, as St Stephen's Church, in 1887. We do not know whether the 1881 organ work was a rebuild of the listed Jardine, or was a rebuild by Jardine of an organ by some other builder. In any event, St. Stephen's paid $1,910.04 for a "new organ" in 1894.'
Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit