Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit
We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit
Something missing or not quite correct?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit
Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit
Rebuild, new console and tonal changes by Aeolian-Skinner in 1941.
From the NYC AGO NYC Organ Project: The neo-Gothic edifice that is now Central Presbyterian Church was built between 1920-22 as the Park Avenue Baptist Church, and financed by John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Architects Allen & Collens, working with Hency C. Pelton, designed the complex which included the sanctuary, parish house, a 500-seat Bible Class study hall, offices, and two floors above the sanctuary. Originally, the tower contained a 53-bell carillon cast in 1925 by Gillett & Johnston of Croydon, England. The Rev. Dr. Harry Emerson Fosdick, the outspoken liberalist pastor of Park Avenue Baptist, drew crowds that overflowed the church and tied up traffic on Park Avenue. Rockefeller had the Riverside Church built in Morningside Heights, and the Park Avenue Baptists moved there in 1929. To the great relief of nearby apartment dwellers, the carillon—which was given by Mr. Rockefeller in memory of his mother, Laura Spelman Rockefeller—was also moved to The Riverside Church. Central Presbyterian Church then purchased the Park Avenue Baptist building, holding their first service on September 22, 1929.
Related Instrument Entries: Aeolian-Skinner Organ Co. (Opus 1027, 1941)
Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit