Stevens & Co.
1876

First Unitarian Church / Holy Trinity Episcopal Church

201 West North Street
Geneseo, IL, US

14 Ranks - 691 Pipes
Instrument ID: 3891 ● Builder ID: 6011 ● Location ID: 3702
⬆️ These are database IDs that may change. Don't use as academic reference.EXPLORE IMAGESVIEW STOPLIST

Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit

Plenum Organ Company

🤝 Instrument entries in Illinois sponsored by:

We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.

IMAGES

Category:
Only show images in a specific category ☝️

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ImageorSuggest an Edit

STOPLISTS

Selected Item:
View additional stoplist entries if they exist ☝️
Click on a stop or division name for additional details if marked with 🛈.

Bellows Alarm. Pedal Check.

Open In New Tab

Something missing or not quite correct?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit

CONSOLES

Selected Item:
View additional console entries if they exist ☝️

Builder: Stevens & Co.
Position: Keydesk Attached
Design: Traditional With a Keyboard Cover That Can Be Lifted To Form a Music Rack
Pedalboard Type: Flat Straight
Features:
2 Manuals (56 Notes)25 Note Pedal3 Divisions17 Stops14 RegistersMechanical (Unknown) Key ActionMechanical Stop Action

Stop Layout: Drawknobs in Horizontal Rows on Terraced/Stepped Jambs
Expression Type: Balanced Expression Shoes/Pedals (Details Unknown)
Combination Action: None
Control System: Unknown or N/A

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit

DETAILS

Switch between notes, documents, audio, and blowers ☝️
This instrument is: Not Extant and Not Playable in this location

Paul R. Marchesano on October 27th, 2025:

from Levsen Organ Co. provided history of the organ:
This George Stevens 13 Rank Tracker organ was originally purchased by the Unitarian Church in 1876 and installed in their new building at 201 West North Street, Geneseo, Illinois. In the 1920s, the Episcopal Diocese of Quincy purchased the property and founded Holy Trinity Episcopal Church. The organ was originally installed in the center on the front wall of the church but when the Episcopal Church purchased the property, the organ was then moved to its final position on the west wall. Minor changes were made in the organ; the hand pump bellows was removed and a Spencer ½ hp blower installed. The organ served Holy Trinity Parish well from that point until November 2005 a vandal set the church on fire and seriously damaged the building.


Database Manager on March 17th, 2016:

Updated through online information from James R. Stettner.


Database Manager on October 14th, 2007:

Updated through online information from James R. Stettner. -- The history of the organ on the Levsen website seems to indicate that the organ was original to the Unitarian church. It also states that the Episcopal Diocese purchased the property from the Unitarians in the 1920s.


Database Manager on June 26th, 2007:

Updated through online information from Lynn Thompson. -- The organ is currently owned by Levsen Organ Company, Buffalo, Iowa, and is available for restoration and relocation.


Database Manager on March 20th, 2006:

Purchased 2nd hand in 1890 for the Unitarian Church in Geneseo. The building and organ were sold to the Episcopalians in 1853, and the organ then moved from front center to the west wall of the chancel.


Database Manager on March 20th, 2006:

The church was damaged by a fire on 20 Nov 2005. The sanctuary is to be demolished, but the organ may be salvaged as of March 2006.


Database Manager on October 30th, 2004:

The number of stops is not exact; at least one is a short compass stop and could be considered a half rank.

Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit

Pipe Organ Database

A project of the Organ Historical Society