Wm. M. Goodrich
1826

St. Paul's Episcopal Church

Boston, MA, US

Instrument ID: 10336 ● Builder ID: 2396 ● Location ID: 9469
⬆️ These are database IDs that may change. Don't use as academic reference.VIEW STOPLIST

Something not quite correct?Suggest an Edit

Plenum Organ Company

🤝 Instrument entries in Massachusetts sponsored by:

We are grateful for the generous support of our sponsors, who make it possible for us to continue our mission of preserving and promoting the rich history of pipe organs across the globe.

IMAGES

Category:
Only show images in a specific category ☝️

No images are available. If you have pictures of this instrument, please consider sharing them with us.

Something missing?Add Image

STOPLISTS

Selected Item:
View additional stoplist entries if they exist ☝️

Something missing or not quite correct?Add StoplistorSuggest an Edit

CONSOLES

Selected Item:
View additional console entries if they exist ☝️

Builder: Unknown
Position: Unknown
Design: Unknown
Pedalboard Type: Unknown
Features:
3 Manuals 26 Stops

Stop Layout: Unknown
Expression Type: Unknown
Combination Action: Unknown
Control System: Unknown or N/A

Something missing or not quite correct?Add ConsoleorSuggest an Edit

DETAILS

Switch between notes, documents, audio, and blowers ☝️
This instrument is: Not Extant and Not Playable in this location

Database Manager on September 27th, 2012:

Updated through online information from T. Daniel Hancock. -- Owen, 1979, notes that according to available evidence, this may be considered as William Goodrich's magnum opus. Goodrich provided a small, temporary organ to St. Paul Church beginning in 1822, when the contract was signed, for use in the interim. This instrument is unique because it is the earliest documented example of an American organ to have an open 16' stop in the pedal. In fact, Goodrich must have been nervous about providing enough wind, because the main bellows was huge, at 6'-0" deep x 12'-0" long. Although Goodrich's 16' Pedal Open Diapason was began at CC, the Pedal compass extended to GG; however, the lowest four notes, G, A, A#, and B, doubled back an octave above. In 1854, this organ was sold to Plymouth Congregational Church in Framingham, Massachusetts, where it was rebuilt by Hutchings in 1887, and destroyed after being replaced by Skinner in 1930.


Database Manager on October 30th, 2004:

G Compass. 1700 pipes.

Something missing or not quite correct?Add NoteorAdd WebpageorAdd Cross ReferenceorSuggest an Edit

Pipe Organ Database

A project of the Organ Historical Society